校園生活
社區服務

讓世界變得更美好

培養具有國際意識的學習者

在 XCL World Academy,我們為學生創造獨特的機會參與社區服務項目,以培養積極、具有國際視野、富有同情心的年輕人,他們希望改變世界並發展成為全球公民。 我們的目標是通過發展服務精神、創業活動和社區精神,在整個生命中以可持續的方式激發對社會的貢獻。

本地和全球影響

XCL World Academy 的學生可以在新加坡和國外獲得豐富的文化接觸、身體挑戰、社區參與和服務即行動的機會。 我們的學生去過南越、泰國、老撾和柬埔寨。 他們與當地社區一起開展各種活動,例如參觀當地學校、幫助學生進行日常活動或教他們英語和遊戲。 在全球大流行期間,我們的學生高度參與了新加坡各地的各種項目。 例子包括每月拜訪老人院、為新加坡的貧困社區籌款、向當地社區食品銀行和外國工人宿舍捐贈雜貨等等。 這些舉措帶來了難忘的經歷,幫助學生了解他們對我們星球的共同守護和對他人的責任。

體驗式學習

我們的體驗式學習計劃 (ELP) 支持和增強教學和學習體驗,讓學生參與現實世界的問題,並通過體驗和反思來學習。 該計劃支持整個課程的學習,並在學年內為學生提供特定的機會參與體驗式學習活動,在各種情況下將課堂以外的課程聯繫起來。 這些機會可能包括但不限於學年開始時的 ELP 培訓。 學生參與團隊建設活動,熟悉 IB 課程,在學校內和新加坡周邊進行調查挑戰和文化交流。 在特定學科的孤島中不存在高效的學生學習。 XCL World Academy 將通過書面課堂課程、現實世界的學習和各種實地考察、服務即行動和創造力、活動、服務 (CAS) 來綁定學習。

周無牆

沒有圍牆的一周是體驗式教育的巔峰時期。 該計劃旨在讓學生參與服務學習和文化交流,參與基於社區的項目,培養人際交往能力,調查課程鏈接,並探索 IB 學習者檔案的各個方面。 學生將參與可持續服務並了解超越國界的問題。 學生通常會以團隊的形式進行計劃和工作,為實現更大利益的共同目標加強團隊合作。

讓學生自信地採取行動

服務即行動是 XCL 世界學院學術課程的重要組成部分。 它幫助學生將在學校學到的知識與現實世界聯繫起來,並培養終身技能,例如溝通、協作、理解和反思。 它還鼓勵您的孩子走出舒適區,讓自己沉浸在具有挑戰性的環境中,從而促進學習。 服務項目將以深刻的方式改變您的孩子並促進個人成長。 這可能發生在學校、當地食品銀行或遙遠的目的地。 這些聯繫的結果是難忘的經歷,可以幫助學生了解他們對我們星球的共同守護和對他人的責任。 通過社區服務,您的孩子將在全球和當地社區留下自己的印記。

促進個人和人際發展

創意、活動、服務 (CAS) 是文憑課程的核心,讓學生在學術學習的同時參與各種活動。 學生將參與學術課堂以外的一系列活動,並鼓勵他們開發項目以展示主動性、毅力和挑戰,並培養協作、解決問題和決策等技能。 這些可能包括視覺和表演藝術、體育、電影、健康、社區服務等。

從原則到實踐

同情

領導

通訊

解決問題

TEAMWORK

Anjali Grillo 回饋社會

“我在幫助他人中找到了快樂。 XCL 世界學院的學生有很好的機會為社區、我們的地區和其他有需要的領域服務。 我們的老師鼓勵我們參與各種社區項目,例如在養老院做志願者、發起救災籌款活動、參觀國際營地等。我有機會與 Putney Student Travel 合作並支持多米尼加共和國的弱勢社區. 該項目的主要目的是為當地兒童建立一個結構化的英語課程。 我們也有機會參與從建造教室到鋪路和道路的基礎設施發展。 這次經歷讓我走出了自己的舒適區,與一群志同道合的學生一起前往一個我以前從未去過的國家,最重要的是——幫助改善有需要的人的福祉和生活質量。”

作為在新加坡的澳大利亞人,我選擇了服務來回饋這個過去八年來一直是我家的國家。 我覺得慷慨和善良就像迴旋鏢; 他們總是回來。

Anjali Grillo,11年級學生,學生會副主席

下一步在哪裡

本網站使用cookies來改善用戶體驗。 通過使用我們的網站,您同意所有 cookie 根據我們的 私隱政策.

School Life
Community Service

Making the world a better place

Developing internationally-minded learners

At XCL World Academy we create unique opportunities for our students to participate in community service projects to develop active, internationally-minded, compassionate young people who want to make a difference in the world and evolve as global citizens. We aim to inspire contribution to society in a sustainable way throughout life by developing a service ethos, entrepreneurial activities and community spirit.

Local and global impact

XCL World Academy students are offered a great mix of cultural exposure, physical challenges, community engagement and service-as-action opportunities in Singapore and abroad. Our students have travelled to South Vietnam, Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. They have worked alongside the local community on various activities such as visiting local schools, helping students with their day-to-day activities or teaching them English and games. During the global pandemic, our students have been highly engaged in various projects across Singapore. Examples include monthly visits to an elderly home, fundraisers for underprivileged communities in Singapore, groceries donation to a local neighbourhood FoodBank and foreign worker dormitories, and many others. These initiatives result in memorable experiences that help students understand their shared guardianship of our planet and responsibility toward others.

Experiential learning

Our Experiential Learning Programme (ELP) supports and enhances teaching and learning experiences to engage students in real-world issues and learn through experience and reflection. The programme supports learning throughout the curriculum and provides specific opportunities within the academic year for students to engage in experiential learning activities, connecting the curriculum beyond the classroom in various contexts. These opportunities may include but are not limited to an ELP orientation at the beginning of the school year. Students engage in team-building activities, familiarisation with the IB programme, investigative challenges and cultural exchanges based within the school and around Singapore. Highly effective student learning does not exist within subject-specific silos. XCL World Academy will bind learning through the written classroom curriculum, real-world learning and various field trips, Service as Action and Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS).

Week Without Walls

The Week Without Walls is experiential education at its prime. The programme is offered to students to engage in service-learning and cultural exchanges, become involved in community-based projects, develop interpersonal skills, investigate curriculum links, and explore aspects of the IB Learner Profile. Students will engage in sustainable service and gain awareness of issues that transcend national borders. Students will often plan and work as teams, strengthening their teamwork for a common goal of the greater good.

Empowering students to take action with confidence

Service as Action is a key component of the XCL World Academy academic programme. It helps students connect what is learned in school with the real world and develop lifelong skills such as communication, collaboration, understanding and reflection. It also facilitates learning by encouraging your child to step out of their comfort zone and immerse themselves in challenging situations. Service projects will change your child in profound ways and foster individual growth. This can happen in school, at the local food bank or a distant destination. The results of these connections are memorable experiences that help the students understand their shared guardianship of our planet and responsibility toward others. Through community service, your child will leave their mark on the global and local community.

Enhancing personal and interpersonal development

Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) is at the heart of the Diploma Programme, involving students in various activities alongside their academic studies. Students will be involved in a range of activities beyond the academic classroom and encouraged to develop their projects to demonstrate initiative, perseverance, a challenge, and develop skills such as collaboration, problem-solving and decision-making. These may include visual and performing arts, sports, film, health, community service and many others.

From principles into practice

EMPATHY

LEADERSHIP

COMMUNICATION

PROBLEM-SOLVING

TEAMWORK

Anjali Grillo gives back to society

“I found happiness in helping others. XCL World Academy students have been provided with great opportunities to serve the community, our region, and other areas of need. Our teachers encourage us to get involved in various community projects such as volunteering at nursing homes, initiating disaster relief fundraisers, visiting international camps, etc. I have had the opportunity to work with Putney Student Travel and support the less privileged community in the Dominican Republic. The main aim of this project was to set up a structured English programme for local children. We have also had the opportunity to get involved in infrastructure development from building classrooms to paving pathways and roads. This experience allowed me to step outside of my comfort zone, travel with a group of like-minded students to a country I hadn’t been to before and most of all – help improve the wellbeing and quality of life of people in need.”

As an Australian in Singapore, I have chosen service to give back to this country that has been my home for the past eight years. I feel that generosity and kindness are like a boomerang; they always return.

Anjali Grillo, Grade 11 student, Vice President of the Student Council

Where next

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.